Home Sweet Home-Lochwinnoch and Cumbrae on two wheels

Apart from eating, I talk a lot about Glasgow and travelling the Highlands of Scotland.  Yet, I am guilty of neglecting the places on my very doorstep.  Alas, no more!  Over the last few weeks I have been taking advantage of the clear blue skies and warming sunshine, and I have rediscovered the lovely places right under my nose.

First, I have to share with you just how lovely the Lochwinnoch war memorial looked under a blanket of pink blossoms on the nicest day of the year so far.  Incidentally, this happened to be the same day as the Royal wedding.  The blossom floating through the air and landing in the ground reminded me of confetti.  It was really beautiful.

 

Lochwinnoch…(shock, horror)…has a loch.  There are no motorised boats allowed due to the RSPB nature reserve it belongs to.  Therefore,  it is popular with windsurfers, rowers, kayakers, dinghy sailors, and even model boat enthusiasts.  Yes, believe it or not, there are enough of them to have Scottish national championships, which just happened to take place last weekend.  It was tense!

Speaking of boats, I took this photo last Saturday night at Troon Marina.  We’ve had some spectacular sunsets lately.

As mentioned before I have taken to my bike with gusto.  I’ve been discovering more of the cycle paths round Lochwinnoch. I had no idea what a warren of dirt tracks were off the cycle paths.  It’s been so much fun.

With my new found enthusiasm for my two wheels, we headed to Cumbrae last Sunday for the age old Ayrshire tradition of cycling round the island.  It may be only 12 miles away but when you step off the ferry it’s like travelling back in time 40 years.

Despite having grown up just a few miles down the road, I never get tired on the view to Arran and the ‘Sleeping Warrior’.

We finished off our jaunt with cocktails on Largs prom where we were treated to another spectacular sunset.

It’s been so nice spending time pottering around the places I take for granted.

However, the lovely weather had to end at some point.  Today I have found myself again in the local cafe with the rain streaming down the window with no sign of it ending.  Was it all a dream?  Luckily I have the photos to prove otherwise.

Posted on May 5, 2011, in Photography, Scotland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

