After the rain…comes more food

Summer is late this year in Scotland.  Very, very late- even by our standards.  After 40 days and 40 nights of rain (I may exaggerate, but it feels like an age), finally the clouds parted and out came the lovely warming, vitamin D enriched sunshine I have been missing these last few weeks.  Aaaah.  This could only mean one thing….

….Bike!

My trusty steed and I did our first cycle in weeks tonight and it was magic.  It felt good to get the wind through my hair, a face full of midges and muddy from head to toe.  

 

Not sure whether it was just me, but the sky and the loch looked particularly clear and blue today.

It’s just as well the weather turned as Banjocat and I have been passing our time indoors comfort eating.  I like to think of it as training for my tour of the West Coast in a few weeks time.  There’s a lot of eating to be done on this trip.  I’m excited.  Here’s a re just a few things I have been warming up with.

I’d love to take the credit for all the lovely breads and cakes that have been produced in my kitchen lately, but I have to confess Mr CL is the baker in this house.  He’s obviously trying to fatten me up, and he’s been quite successful.  I hope the Knoydart ferry’s weight allowance can support me, especially on the way back, as I will be working my way through the menu at the Old Forge Inn.  Click on the link for a wee glimpse of what is coming up- that’s just to kick off the tour!

Actually, excited is an understatement.  I am so looking forward to reporting back on every delicious dish eaten and beautiful place visited.   Only 2 weeks to go!

Posted on June 2, 2011, in Eat, Scotland, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. one word….omnomnom 🙂

Leave a Reply

